Tags

, , , , , , , ,

picture of study books
photo courtesy of sxc.hu user shho

Have I mentioned that I am a forty-something university student? I’m working on a double major: mathematics and creative writing. I’m a mathematician-poet. The math part will pay the rent, but both sides of me represent something both abstract and fundamental in God’s creation.

I love to explore the ways that the material world can be expressed through mathematics. Poetry does the same for the human experience. Both subjects are deep. Both are creative. Both are expressions of very real forces that act upon us everyday. Our earthly bodies were created with the expectation they would be acted upon by forces such as gravity and inertia. Likewise, our minds were created to be acted upon by emotional and intellectual phenomenon. I believe our hearts were created to be acted upon spiritually, and that we believers are indeed the light of God in the world. That’s why I carry my faith to class with me.

No, I’m not that woman who asks everyone she passes if they have been saved. I have more respect for the people whom I encounter each day. I just want to be a fine example of what a Christian looks like when she follows God’s will rather than her own. Yes, that means being a servant. A servant, though, acts in a person’s best interest. She encourages. She lifts up. She knows that:

“the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness and self-control.” Galatians 5:22-23

I am unashamed about speaking about my faith. In class, in conversation with my fellow-students, with my professors, I gladly proclaim the good that the Lord does in my life. He gets the credit for giving me the talents I enjoy. He gets the credit for helping me to be reliable and nurturing to others. I only hope that through my sincerity and transparency about my faith, that I am able to lift up believers and show non-believers a positive view of God’s moving in our lives.

I worried in the beginning that I would find resistance. I admit to being an overachiever (although I would argue about the necessity of the word “over” in that term). I worried that liberal, intellectual professors might judge my work not on its merit but on my beliefs. Just the opposite has been true, though! I think people can’t help but respond favorably to a positive person who wants only the best for them. With God’s help, I can be that person every day. He is so good!

