Tags

, , , , ,

Root canal. Colonoscopy. Blind date. Testifying before Congress. Final exams. Hmmm…. which do I chose?

I’m in finals starting Monday but let me tell you that finals will be a breeze after The Great Week of All the Big Projects for All the Classes. I don’t say this often: I think I bit off just nearly more than I can chew this semester. I’ve had emotional lows over the past couple of weeks that I haven’t experienced since my divorce. I’m living on four hours of sleep per night, and that doesn’t encourage emotional and mental sharpness.

You know how people always tell you that you should rejoice during hard times because you have the opportunity to rely upon the Lord? They are absolutely right.

God has spoken to me through so many people this week that I really understand He loves me and is concerned for me and wants to help me through this. I never would have known that with the certainty I have if I hadn’t gone through this trying time. He knows this isn’t going to harm me–that in the long run, it will make me stronger. My Lord is amazing!

One of the most amazing things about being a Christian seeking His kingdom every day is that I keep reaching the point where I say, wow I love the Lord so much that I can’t imagine loving Him more. And then I love Him more. I’m overwhelmed. I’m all in. Fully vested for eternity.

I look for opportunities to add God to my life. I get four emails with words of encouragement each morning. I’ve got God in my Facebook timeline, my twitter, and my RSS feeds. He’s on my smart phone, on my laptop, on my car radio, and in my e-reader.

Ask, and it shall be given you; seek, and ye shall find; knock, and it shall be opened unto you. -Matthew 7:7

Oh yes. That works. It really does. And the more asking, seeking, and knocking you do, the more you receive. I’ve got this relationship with God deep down in my bones now. He makes every moment in the world like a preview of the kingdom.

God gave me a word of encouragement this week that has kept me going  through the many times I’ve wanted to give up.

Don’t be afraid, for I am with you.
     Don’t be discouraged, for I am your God.
I will strengthen you and help you.
     I will hold you up with my victorious right hand. -Isaiah 41:10

And I now add to that:

Trust in the Lord always,
    for the Lord God is the eternal Rock. – Isaiah 26:4

