Tags

, , ,

This year, like every year, I went to the store to pick out a card for my mother for Mother’s Day. Reading those cards always makes me cry. Before, when I was separated from my family, stubbornly insisting on making my own way in the world, I cried because I longed to be with my mother, as a daughter should be. Now, after I am tucked back safely into the fold, after I have Christ Jesus reigning in my life, I cry for all the sorrow I caused her when I was young and foolish, and for the joy I have to have her in my life. 

God’s blessings be upon the mothers today, and every day. Your strength is remarkable. How do you find the courage to care for us when we so desperately need it, yet let us go on our own when it is time? And then we stubborn children in our self-focused progress in the world forget to honor you, forget the aching you do for us. I pray that all the mothers who yearn, worry, and hope for better for their children are able to find strength in the Lord, and will feel His peace. 

Some verses for mother’s day…

Genesis 3:20
Adam named his wife Eve, because she would become the mother of all the living.

Genesis 17:16
I will bless her and will surely give you a son by her. I will bless her so that she will be the mother of nations; kings of peoples will come from her.” (God’s promise to Abraham concerning Sarah)

Exodus 20:12
“Honor your father and your mother, so that you may live long in the land the LORD your God is giving you.

1 Samuel 2:19
Each year his mother made a small coat for him and brought it to him when she came with her husband for the sacrifice. (Samuel’s mother Hannah had given her son to be raised in the temple. She begged for a child and the Lord gave her one, so she dedicated the boy back to God)

1 Kings 3:26
Then the woman who was the real mother of the living child, and who loved him very much, cried out, “Oh no, my lord! Give her the child—please do not kill him!” (The real mother of the child in dispute tells Solomon she would rather the other woman take the baby than to have him killed.)

Matthew 2:11
They entered the house and saw the child with his mother, Mary, and they bowed down and worshiped him. Then they opened their treasure chests and gave him gifts of gold, frankincense, and myrrh

Luke 24:10
It was Mary Magdalene, Joanna, Mary the mother of James, and several other women who told the apostles what had happened.

John 19:25
Standing near the cross were Jesus’ mother, and his mother’s sister, Mary (the wife of Clopas), and Mary Magdalene.

1 Thessalonians 2:7
As apostles of Christ we certainly had a right to make some demands of you, but instead we were like children among you. Or we were like a mother feeding and caring for her own children.

2 Timothy 1:5
I remember your genuine faith, for you share the faith that first filled your grandmother Lois and your mother, Eunice. And I know that same faith continues strong in you. (Paul. to Timothy)

Happy Mother’s Day to you all, and to my mother. 

In Christ,

Debbie

