Tags

, ,

Luke 12:6-7

New International Version (NIV)

Are not five sparrows sold for two pennies? Yet not one of them is forgotten by God. Indeed, the very hairs of your head are all numbered. Don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.

My boyfriend and I flew into Phoenix today to visit some of his family. We are both excited to be spending time together, and away from work and school. But I am most excited about seeing the Grand Canyon for the first time. We’ll be hiking and bicycling and I will be taking hundreds of pictures. God’s earth is so beautiful. I expect to be overwhelmed by the immensity of the landscape.

Sometimes I think of God’s immensity and wonder how it can be that He cares for each and every one of us personally  and  individually. I had that feeling of overwhelming immensity as Bill and I flew in to Chicago for our plane change today. Hundreds, thousands of homes, and apartments spread out below our plane: row upon row, street upon street. It occurred to me suddenly that God knows every soul in every one of those buildings. Personally and individually. He knows every hurting, groaning, corner. Every joy, every sorrow. Every past moment, every future. Even to the number of hairs on their heads.

He protects all who belong to Him, and loves us with an overwhelming and immense love.

“Don’t be afraid,” Luke says. “You are worth more than many sparrows.”

