God is so faithful!

Yesterday, my parents and I drove through holiday traffic to a university where I will be doing some summer research. When we finally arrived, hot, tired, and hungry, we discovered that my dorm apartment was a third floor walk-up. We had two suitcases, a refrigerator, a microwave, and other boxes and bags to carry up the stairs!

Just as we were looking up and gathering the strength to begin, a door opened on the first floor. Two women came out and asked if we needed help. They had about twelve people inside, they said, including a pair of big brothers with strong arms. We accepted the offer. About 3 minutes later, all my stuff was sitting outside the door of my apartment, and the pair of brothers were carrying my refrigerator into my room. Amazing!

I had been on the verge of tears with the anxiety of being a 40-something woman moving into a college dorm with 5 new (18 – 21 years old) roomies. God knew how I was feeling, and He arranged for assistance with the physical challenge so that I would have only the emotional one to deal with.

Mom and Dad took me out to dinner before they left for home. I cried at one point and asked them to reassure me.

“Please tell me I can do this,” I begged.

They both reminded me that I have overcome greater challenges than this. We prayed, and thanked God for his faithfulness in keeping us all safe and on His path. My tears dried, and I was able to enjoy dinner.

Later last night, one of my new roomies and I agreed that we would hang out at the library together. We are both doing literature reviews, and we can help watch each other’s belongings on bathrooms breaks and trips for coffee. Again, I have to thank my faithful, ever-constant Holy Father for His assuring presence in my life – He comes through with just what I need just when I need it.

You know, I think I am on the verge of really trusting Him. I think that as long as I live by obeying Him, keep praying constantly, and remain  aware of His Holy Spirit within me, He will be right there with a path for my feet as I step out into the thin air of challenges.

Proverbs 3:5-6
Trust in the LORD with all your heart; do not depend on your own understanding. Seek his will in all you do, and he will show you which path to take.  (NLT)

