Tags

, ,

I can hardly believe that over 10 days have passed since I posted last. My summer research initiative is intensifying. The time, while passing quickly, often brings anxiety and frustration. Fortunately though, it also brings many joys.

The students who are my cohort in this post-baccalaureate program are all traditionally aged (ie. young enough to be my children), and I worried if I would fit in at all. To my delight, they have reached out to me, making me feel accepted. As I write this post, I can hear a few of the young women who share my apartment, out in the living room, playing music and singing softly as they study. Their laughter is like bells, and helps to quell the pressure we all feel. I thank God for them and for all my classmates, and ask Him daily to watch over them, protect them, and help them grow strong.

This week, in my and my boyfriend’s respective families, we welcomed two new baby girls into the world. Born on the same day, in Louisville and in Morgantown, we all thanked God for these miracles of creation. They are both healthy and beautiful. Welcome, Emma and Molli!

This morning, I watched Dr. Charles Stanley — as I do while getting ready for Sunday School and church. The message was exceptionally encouraging: allowing God to guide our lives. I realized there was still an area of my life that I was trying to control by relying on my own understanding: my academics. I have been struggling with my research question. This morning, I handed it over to God. He answered me immediately and continually over the course of Sunday School, church, and through a conversation with a friend who gave me an uplifting word. He told me that all He ever does is to care for me and wants to guide me. It is only up to me to ask. He is so faithful!

Here is the link to the program I saw this morning. I highly recommend seeing it.

It is indeed only up to us to ask Him into our lives, to ask Him to guide us, and then to obey when He responds faithfully every single time.

PSALM 9:9-10 (NLT)

The Lord is a shelter for the oppressed,
a refuge in times of trouble.
10 Those who know your name trust in you,
for you, O Lord, do not abandon those who search for you.

PSALM 55:22 (NLT)

22 Give your burdens to the Lord,
and he will take care of you.
He will not permit the godly to slip and fall.

1 CHRONICLES 16:11 (NLT)

11 Search for the Lord and for his strength;
continually seek him.

DEUTERONOMY 4:29 (NLT)

29 But from there you will search again for the Lord your God. And if you search for him with all your heart and soul, you will find him.

PROVERBS 8:17 (NLT)

17 “I love all who love me.
Those who search will surely find me.

LAMENTATIONS 3:25 (NLT)

25 The Lord is good to those who depend on him,
to those who search for him.

Psalm 40:16 (NLT)

16 But may all who search for you
be filled with joy and gladness in you.
May those who love your salvation
repeatedly shout, “The Lord is great!”

