Tags

, ,

Sometimes I think I sound like a broken record: have faith, trust in God, God provides, seek Him in all you do and He will make your path straight — I just go on and on about these.

There is a reason for that. It is Truth.

Proverbs 3:6

New Living Translation (NLT)

Seek his will in all you do,
    and he will show you which path to take.

I have felt greatly convicted of my sin lately. I feel that my biggest error lies in arrogance and my failure to first reach out to others. I live too often in a bubble of Self, perceiving everything around me only as it pertains to me. I see compassion in others, great compassion that seems to just well up inside them unbidden. I want to exhibit that kind of compassion, and I feel now an overwhelming urge to seek it from God.

Sometimes I think the Holy Spirit works within us to urge us to goodly behavior without our realizing we have a need for it. At least with me, I have no idea why I have this sudden longing for a great dose of compassion. I am sure that just a week ago I would have said I was a pretty good person. Lately, though, every sentence I utter seems to undergo an immediate post-spoken critique in my thoughts. I look for how I might have failed to lift someone up with my words, and how I might have actively been spiteful, arrogant, or dismissive.

I often find that my words have fallen far short of the power for goodness that they could have been.

So, I’ve been praying for compassion. I’ve been asking the Lord to convict me of the sin of arrogance, and to help me see others as Jesus would see them.

Something interesting has happened.

I seem to be seeing more deeply into situations and have even felt that I could sense the gratitude of people with whom I interact while consciously bearing in mind their best interest, in other words treating them as I would wish I were being treated. Now, I have misunderstood plenty of times before what I imagine someone else is thinking. But this glimmer of delight I see when I look into another person’s eyes while actively holding the love of Christ in my heart seems very real.

Following Christ’s commandment to love God with all my heart, soul, strength, and mind, and to love my neighbor as myself is addictive: the more I do those, the more I want to do those.

But it isn’t always easy.

This active, deliberate intention to emulate Christ in my interactions with others sometimes drains my energy. I sometimes feel like dropping back into my self-centered view of the world like falling back into a soft couch after a hard workout. But as I know a hard workout is good for my body, so I know that continued deliberate emulation of Christ is good for my soul. And so I pray: for courage, for greater faith, for greater trust, and for compassion.

Matthew 7:7

New Living Translation (NLT)

Effective Prayer

“Keep on asking, and you will receive what you ask for. Keep on seeking, and you will find. Keep on knocking, and the door will be opened to you.

